Jyotiraditya Scindia informs Lok Sabha about 11 countries placed in 'at-risk' category


Jyotiraditya Scindia informs Lok Sabha about 11 countries placed in 'at-risk' category

Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union civil aviation minister informed the Parliament on December 2nd that 11 countries have been put in ‘at-risk’ category due to the spread of Omicron variant of the coronavirus.


These 11 countries include the United Kingdom, South Africa, Brazil, Botswana, China, Zimbabwe, Mauritius, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore and Israel.


While speaking in Lok Sabha about the COVID situation amidst Omicron variant's growing threat, Scindia said there will be RT-PCR tests for international passengers from ‘at-risk’ nations.


He said, "It has been our effort over the last 6 months to slowly increase flights; internationally as well...Omicron is a setback as all countries across the world need to be safe. Our government has categorised 11 countries as 'at risk'. At present we have air bubble agreement with 31 countries and have a proposal with 10 other nations to start air bubble agreement”, he said in response to a question regarding the current situation of air bubbles during COVID-19."


Earlier in the day, the health ministry announced that it detected the country's first two cases of the Omicron variant of coronavirus. Both the infections were reported from Karnataka, with the patients being identified as 66-year-old and 46-year-old males.


The two cases in Karnataka, Dr Bhargava further said, were detected "through genome sequencing efforts of INSACOG consortium of 37 laboratories established by the Ministry of Health".


Copyright www.mybrandbook.co.in @1999-2022 - All rights reserved.
Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of Kalinga Digital Media Pvt. Ltd. is prohibited.
Other Initiatives : www.varindia.com | www.spoindia.org